Hey guys! So this past Thursday to Friday, I went to Oahu for, guess what! The 10th Olelo Youth XChange! It was such an honor, and I had a great time from the very beginning to the very end! Let me tell you more about it!

So, on Thursday night, when we (we meaning Lia, Annie, Brandon, Mr. M and I) got to Oahu, we headed right on over to Dave and Buster's in our rental car. It was the first time I had ever gone, and let me just say, it was a blast! The food was really good, and the games were great. It was really special of Mr. M to treat all of us to play all those games and eat dinner, let alone take us on the trip. After Dave and Busters, we checked into our hotel, and went right to sleep, filled with excitement about the next day!

The next day, we got ready, and then we were off on our way to the Youth XChange! When we got there, we got these really cool medallions because it was the 10th anniversary. The hotel was super nice! We then went inside and sat down at our table, and then we got food. The food was delicious! There was teriyaki chicken, rice, fancy noodles, salad, bread and butter balls, and more.  Olelo really goes all out!! The dessert was super yummy too! There was cheesecake, chocolate cake, and this amazing bread pudding with Mac nut caramel sauce on top. Just thinking about it makes me hungry! Anyways, after we ate, the program began. Before I knew it, Lia was being called up as the middle school animation winner. She definitely deserved it, if I have anything to say about it! I mean, her PSA was just... AWESOME! The rest of the time until they called up the PSA winners, I had a bunch of butterflies in my stomach. I could hardly sit still! I was kind of disappointed though, because neither Brandwonder I won! A two out of three chance and we didn't win! Ughh! It was so frustrating! But what made up for our loss was at the end, when the people at Olelo announced they would be giving away the grand prize! And can you guess who won it? Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle School, that's who! Oh yeah!

So, overall you can see it was a good trip. We went shopping afterwards, which was fun too. Then, before I knew it, it was time to head home. But it was a really special experience, even if I didn't win. I mean, I was in the top three out of more than 100 entries, so that's something, right? Next year though, I'm planning to go back to Olelo and win! I'm already thinking up of PSA ideas right now! Well, I guess that's all! Thanks for reading!




Leave a Reply.