This year in media, I have grown a lot in my skills and abilities, and have also learned many important lessons- lessons that have given me more knowledge and experience, and that I can use not only in media, but in school, and life in general. I think all of the lessons I've learned are all VERY important, and crucial to have in life, but when asked what the MOST important lesson I've learned this year is, I would have to say, without a doubt, it is to always try your best/hardest.

Now, most likely all of your life you've been told always to try your best (or at least I have). But I think lots of times (well, this has happened to me) is you do something that's kind of hard to do, and it turns out okay, and even if you have the time or opportunity to do it again, you don't want to. This happened with both my Bethany Hamilton project and my Third Quarter PSA. You see, with the Bethany Hamilton project, after Bethany's interview with the really bad sound, we had the opportunity too try to call Bethany again and ask her to redo the interview (which would be very embarrassing and take up our time, if she did agree) or just stick with the interview we had, which was obviously the easier and more...temping choice. We chose to ask Bethany again, and miraculously, she said yes. A similar thing happened with my PSA. After filming it the first time, I realized their were some errors that could be fixed, and even though my PSA was not bad, it was far from amazing. So, although it took up two more days of my weekend, I filmed it, not once, but twice again. I'm just so lucky that I have such awesome friends that took time out of their own weekend to help me film my PSA three times!

So, those are just two examples of how I went back and tried my best in the Media Class this year.  And I'm so thankful I did, because it really paid off. I mean, our Bethany Hamilton news story aired on Hiki No (twice!), and my PSA was a finalist in the 2013 Olelo Youth XChange! When I look back, I think it's so crazy that if I chose to be lazy and just not ask Bethany for a second interview, or refilm my PSA, things like being on Hiki No, and a finalist at Olelo would have never happened! So, doing your best and going above and beyond to make your work great is a really huge lesson I learned this year. Put simply, and how Mr. M likes to say it, is changing things from "good to great".

As I mentioned earlier, all the lessons I've learned this year can be used not just in media, but in all areas of life. The important lesson of always doing your best and being willing to change things from good to great is especially an important one, because well, anyone can do a good, average job, but it's the people that are willing to go above and beyond and make things great that stand out. I am going to use this skill in family life, friend life, work life, and school life :)

Overall, you can see how doing your best and changing things from good to great has been an important lesson for me this year. It's a lesson that I'm excited to use in all areas of my life, and also continue to use in media.




Leave a Reply.