Hi, blog readers! I'm here today to write about the biggest difficulty I face in media. What is it, you ask? Well, the biggest difficulty for me in Media would have to be filming. I know, I know, filming is a huge part of media and it's very important to be good at it. n fact, it's probably the most important part of making a project because it's the one part that you aren't always able to go back and fix. I mean, you can go back and fix a script all you want, but if an interview goes bad, there's not always another chance for you to go back and reshoot it, or another chance to reshoot b-roll of a one time event. Anyways, in the next few paragraphs, I'll talk about why I think filming is the biggest challenge for me, what went wrong with filming this quarter, and how I plan to become better at filming. So just keep on reading!

Okay, so there are two main reasons why I think I'm not the best at filming. The first is that last year, my partner would always be in charge of filming every single time we did an interview (so I never really got any practice), and also, after the interview that we did with Bethany Hamilton that went horrible, from that point on I would get super nervous before an interview or filming in general, thinking that something would end up going wrong. It's silly, I know, that just one bad interview could make me think all the rest would be bad, but that's just what happened.

This year, if you read my other blog about Kaycee and my first quarter project update, you would know that our interviews didn't go well. Why? Because of the stupid audio!! Grrr! I'm so mad! I honestly have no idea why the audio came out with a hiss! It wasn't the camera that caused the bad audio, it wasn't the mikes, it wasn't the DSLR mini sound box, and it couldn't have been the memory card or headphones. I seriously have racked my brain trying to figure out why there's an artificial hiss in all of our interviews but one, and I'm just so confused. And discouraged. But, oh well. I'm going to keep on trying to figure out why our interview audio has a hiss (because there HAS to be some explanation, right?) so that next quarter, our interviews can be, well... perfect!

So like I said, I want to learn about why our audio had a hiss this year so that I can become better at filming. I want to practice using the T2i more as well, because honestly, this quarter was the first time I ever interviewed someone using a T2i (last year we used Vixias). Lastly, I plan to become better at filming by thinking positively instead of negatively. Instead of thinking "I bet this interview is going to suck", I'm going to think "If everything is prepared and I do my best, this interview will be great."

Anyways, now you know that filming is my biggest challenge in Media. And although I haven't had the best history with filming, there's no need to think that I will always be bad at filming. By learning about why the audio wasn't good, getting used to using the equipment more, and having positive thoughts, I know that I can change from being a good, well more like a... developing filmer, to a great filmer!




Leave a Reply.