AAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!! Oh my gosh! Oh my gosh! Oh my freaking gosh!! I'm still just trying to comprehend what happened today, because it was completely different than I thought it would go! Let me start at the very beginning. So I woke up today super anxious, hardly getting any sleep last night. All night I was tossing and turning and had butterflies in my stomach thinking about the awards ceremony and possible scenarios. I had listed out all the pros and cons of our Anchoring video, and decided that in the absolute best case Marlena and I would get an honorable mention, but I didn't even think we would place at all due to all the technical difficulties. Well, finally, it was time for the convention, and Marlena and I sat right next to each other. All the Hawaii schools are sitting in a section together as well, and every single Hawaii student, teacher, and chaperone is wearing the Hawaii STN shirt. It was so neat! We are cheering a lot because every time any Hawaii school wins an award everyone in the Hawaii section would cheer, and the Hawaii schools were winning a lot. It was crazy! Before I know it, CKMS is winning first place in Spot Feature, and we are all going cheering like crazy! I was so happy for that team. More and more awards get called out, more Hawaii schools win, more teams from CKMS win, but Anchoring still wasn't called out yet. It seems like forever until the Anchoring category gets called out. But then finally that moment comes, and the lady is calling out the winners. First honorable mention: not us. My heart sinks a little. Second honorable mention: not us. My heart sinks even more. "Yeah, we're definitely not winning any award" I think to myself. Third Place winner: not us. Second place winner: not u- wait a second, did she just say what I think she said?? And sure enough, I look up at the big screen, and next to second place it says Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle School. And then me and Marlena, at the same moment, realize that it IS us. That our glitchy, seven second over the max time Anchoring segment has jut won second place at a national convention. And honestly, I don't remember if all the Hawaii schools start cheering or not, but I do remember jumping up with Marlena, screaming, and then running to get our second place award! It was pretty awesome! So, I'm proud to say, that in all this year, we won 5 awards at STN. First place in Spot Feature, second place in Music Video, second place in Sweet 16 Broadcast (which is what we worked on the first day of STN), second place in Anchoring, and an honorable mention in the PSA category. I'm so happy!! After the convention, we had a great burger lunch at 5 Guys, and then went to Gatorland. Then we went to the Outlet Mall and now we're back at the hotel room. So I have to say, I think today was the best day of the trip so far. Just the satisfaction of knowing something you worked really hard on, that you didn't even think would make it, made second place in a national competition, it's a really good feeling! I can't wait for our last day of the trip, but then I'm actually about ready to go home. I miss my family, and friends, and sleeping in my own room. I feel that this trip has been an amazing experience, and I'm glad that you got to read about it :)

Mr. M
3/30/2014 04:26:28 pm

Honestly, I knew you guys would do well. I wasn't sure where you'd end up but I knew you'd place. You speak so well and can put together your thoughts so eloquently that with Marlena's awesome camera work, I knew you guys had a good chance to place. I was thinking that maybe you won 1st! Congratulations to you both for working so hard and believing in yourselves. That's what counts you know! There will be people in life that will tell you that you can't do this or you can't succeed at that. Don't listen to them! Work hard, extremely hard, and don't give up. Believe in yourself and you will be able to achieve just about anything! Congrats on a job well done!

Reply



Leave a Reply.