As I mentioned in my first blog, Sierra and I decided we would do our First Quarter Project on mongoose on Kauai. The main point of our video is that having mongoose on Kauai would not be good, and really change our island. It's pretty exciting for me because this is my first news story! I have enjoyed interviewing people and actually learning through them. For example, from interviewing all 3 people, I've learned about the history of mongoose, why they were brought to the Hawaiian Islands in the first place, the cause and effects they can have, and more!


The people we have gotten to interview are a guy who works for KISC ( Kauai Invasive Species Committee) who actually caught a mongoose on Kauai, and another person who works for DOFAW ( Division of Forestry and Wildlife), and finally, someone who works with USDA Fish and Wildlife. We are almost done transcribing, so I am happy about that, and then we're all set to move on to writing the scripts.
My goal is to make a video with that is Hiki No worthy, a video that is clear and focused to the point, and really makes people aware of mongoose on Kauai. I want to have a video that's not just good, but great. If we are determined, I know our First Quarter News Story can be amazing, and I think we are on the right track.




Leave a Reply.