Hi guys! So now that First Quarter is over, I thought I'd write a reflection on my first quarter in Media, and how I felt about it. Where to begin?? Well, first of all, I have the best partner! She is so smart and awesome and it's been great working with her! Our project idea was on KIUC's goal of 50% renewable energy by the year 2023, and how they plan to achieve that goal by two large photovoltaic farms. Overall, I think for First Quarter, our project went okay. I mean, it wasn't horrible, but I don't really think it was that great, or even that good. First of all, there was the audio issue. Luckily, I was able to get the hiss out of some of the interviews, but in Ben Sullivan's interview, the audio is really bad. Second of all, our project turned out long to be a minute longer than the max time. However, this is pretty good considering I trimmed it down from 8:48 minutes. Lastly, I thought or project was kind of boring. We didn't really have that many things to get b-roll of, so a lot of the time we were just showing b-roll of solar plants or the power plant, which isn't bad, but when you're looking at it for four minutes, it can kind of get a little boring.

But, even though I didn't really think our News Story turned out the best, there were some other things that I think I did well. For example, I thought Kaycee and I did a really nice job on radios. Even Jason from FM97 thought so! I also thought my team and I did a good job on morning announcements, and I have kept up with all my blogs, and met all the deadlines in the class, so that's good :)

Overall, there are a lot of things that I did well this quarter, but there are also definitely things I can approve upon for next quarter. After all, it was only the start of this year! Next quarter, I'm going to take everything I learned so that I can make an even better project. Thanks for reading!




Leave a Reply.