Hi guys! I'm so glad this week's constructed response topic is a project update, because let me just tell you, since my last blog about my Fourth Quarter Project, a lot has changed! I'm still working with Marlena, but we have a completely different idea than before. If you read my first blog about my Fourth Quarter Project, you will have seen that I was deciding between two different ideas- a music video to the song "How to Save a Life" by the Fray, or a movie trailer. We decided not to do either of those ideas. Instead, and kind of at the last minute, we decided to do a music video, to the song Unwritten.

Okay, so let me just say, I love the song "Unwritten". At one time it was my favorite song. I guess the reason why I loved ( and still love) it so much was because of it's positive message. It's wonderful, inspiring message that says "You don't have to let others tell you who you are. You're unique, you're amazing, you're capable of doing anything. You might make mistakes along the way, but hey, that's okay. And through it all, when you're feeling like there's no way you're life can ever get better, just remember, you're future is unwritten." It motivates me every time I listen to it. I like it better than "How to Save a Life" because although I REALLY, REALLY love that song too, it's just so depressing and sad, and although it has a good message as well, I think Marlena and I both wanted to do something a little more bright, and hopeful, and cheery.

So, our idea for this song was to show a girl who is feeling hopeless and like her life can never get better, and she has to be and is what other people tell her she is (like stupid, ugly, ect.) but then she realizes that her future is in her hands and she can be anything she wants to be. She will then start trying new things and fail miserably at them, but she will not give up because she knows mistakes are how you learn. After that, you will see her making progress and even helping others. Through the whole song she will be writing in her journal, which is a way for you to see wht she is thinking and feeling through the song. At the end of the song, she will flip through her journal, and every page will be written in, except the last page. You'll be able to see how different she was from when she wrote the first entry. Anyways, on the last page she write whatever, but then on the bottom, she will write something like "...and the rest is still unwrtitten", and then she'll get up and meet her friends or something like that while the focus of the shot will be on the last words in the journal she wrote.

I think our music video definitely has the potential to turn out great. I have this vision in my head of what our video would be like if we did it perfectly, and I'm just hoping it turns out kind of like the video in my mind. What I don't what to happen is for our video to turn out cheesy, or confusing, or just plain bad. I really want to make a quality music video that does the song justice, especially since it's Fourth Quarter and I want to end the year off with an amazing video. The thing that I'm kind of stressing the most right now is that our script isn't finished yet, and I really want to get it done as soon as possible so that we have more time for Mr. M to approve it or give us feedback, and then we can film and edit without being in a time crunch. My plan is to have the script done by Monday, so that Mr. M can give us feedback then, and we can fix any mistakes we have on Tuesday (which we hopefully won't have), so we will be ready to film on Wednesday. I'm crossing my fingers that everything works out!

So, there you have it. That's basically how my Fourth Quarter Project is going. I think we have a great song, and I'm hoping that we can make a great video to go along with it! I'll keep you updated about how it's going, but for now, that's all. Bye!




Leave a Reply.