Hey people! I don't know about you, but I am super duper tired right now! Today was a really big day.... It was the day I competed (along with the other people in the movie trailer group) in the STN Competition. Before and after that I went to lots breakout sessions, and then our whole class went to a special speech from Michael Singer, and then, to finish off the day, we went to the first ever STN Talent Show, and watched the 10 best music videos submitted by high school teams! It was quite a day!
So, of course the main highlight of the day was the movie trailer competition. I think it went pretty well and I'm really anxious to see it! The title of our movie was "Breakpoint", and we chose to do a trailer about a girl who was getting to bullied to her breaking point. I think we had a really good story, and I really hope the editors made it flow together in a way that made sense and was very compelling. Ahhhh! I just can't wait to see it!
I thought the breakout sessions were all very cool, although my favorite session was the one by Les Rose. The session that he taught was all abut how to find a good story in everyday people, events, and things. I also really liked the special speech from Michael Singer. He is the publicist for Jerry Bruckheimer, and has been a part in the making of several movies, including all the Pirates of the Caribbean movies except for the first one, as well as working with several actors, like Johnny Depp. He talked about how it was to work for Jerry Bruckheimer, and then we got to ask him questions. He was really nice, and even bought us key-chain like things for your phone from Japan. It was really neat!
The last part of the day was the STN Talent Show and the top ten high school music videos. It was really fun! We cheered on a girl that was from Hawaii when she went up to sing, and also Kiana (I'm not sure if that's how you spell her name) from Castaic Middle School. As for the music videos, all ten were decent, but some really stood out from the others. The music video I liked the most was the one where a guy was hanging out with a girl all happy together, and then the girl's boyfriend comes and so the boy is all sad, but then at the end the boy and the girl end up kissing. Everyone in the audience was like "Awww!" when they saw that :)
So, that was my day. I can't believe it was the last day of the trip! Time really seemed to fly by! Tomorrow when we go to the closing ceremony, I'm really hoping to finish off the trip by winning an award, but even if we don't win it will still be fun. Wish us luck!



Leave a Reply.