Even though it's only my first year in Media, and not even three full quarters of the school year have gone by, I've learned many lessons. And the lessons I've learned are not just vital for the Media Productions Class, but also for life in general. I mean, isn't effective communication important? And what about learning to persevere through challenges? And isn't going the extra mile to change things from good to great a great skill to have? Well, these are all lessons that I've learned had the honor to learn about in Media, and if you're interested in learning about how I learned them and how I can apply these skills to my life, read on!

As I said earlier, one of the lessons I've learned in Media is to not only communicate clearly and effectively, but also listen attentively and carefully so that I catch all the information. With all the phone calls and emails I've had to do in media, I've definitely had a lot of time to get experience with communicating! Whether it was calling to schedule an interview, or getting information about a school for the Inside Scoop, getting across my message clearly and effectively was the key to success. However, I've also learned that listening to the other person is also important. For example, when scheduling an interview it's important to listen to the other person so that you can schedule a time that is convenient for both of you. This is also important when calling a school to get events for the Inside Scoop because you need to write down everything about the event and it's crucial that all the information that you have about the event is correct when you report it on the radio. I can apply clear communication and careful listening to life because whether talking with teachers, coaches, friends, future co-workers, future bosses, or even family, it's important to know how to communicate in a way that they can understand, and also listen to them. Anyways, the bottom line is that clear communication and careful listening is one of the many lessons I've learned in Media, and it's a very important skill to have in life.

Another life lesson I've learned in Media is to change things from good to great. This is a concept that Mr. M shared with the class, and it basically means that you go the extra mile to change something from something that has okay quality and is pretty good (but definitely could be better), to excellent and exceptional quality. That lesson is the reason why Sierra and I wanted to do another interview with Bethany that would have good sound and not just settle for the first interview with really horrible sound, and it's also why I just filmed my PSA again (for the third time!!). Just so that it could change from good to great. And even though you have to work a little harder to change something from good to great, it really pays off. I mean, because Sierra and I worked just a little bit harder and reshot that interview with Bethany and made sure our video was really good, flowed together and made sense, well... that's the reason that it aired on Hiki No. And in other things in life, like for example let's say umm, oh, here's one: applying for a job, being willing to go back and change things from good to great is a really important skill to have because anyone can do just a good job, but it's the people who go back and go the extra mile to make things great who stand out and will end up getting that job. And so you can see how the lesson "good to great" is an important lesson to use not only in Media, but in life as well.

Finally, a life lesson that I've learned in Media was to not give up and persevere through challenges. I mean, do you know how badly I felt like giving up after filming Bethany's first interview, with the sound coming out horrible? I seriously kind of wanted to change the whole topic of our news story, it was so bad! I remember Mr. M looking at our first interview and saying that the framing was really, really bad and telling the whole class to learn from our mistake (and he hadn't even heard the sound yet!) And if you think that was embarrassing, imagine how it must've felt for me to call Bethany Hamilton (who is, shall I remind you, a famous surfer who has a movie about her) and ask her if there is any way we could possibly re-interview her because there was really bad sound and a bad framing. But anyways, though I felt like giving up, it payed off to persevere, and you know what? Our story went on Hiki No! And it was all because we didn't give up :) Perseverance is a lesson that I can definitely use in life, because most things in life aren't easy, and if you give up right away, you'll never succeed, but if you keep on going and persevere, it definitely pays off!

Overall, you can see that three life lessons I've learned in Media this year are to communicate clearly and effectively and listen carefully, be willing to change things from good to great, and finally, to not give up and persevere. Hopefully, after reading this blog, you've learned too and want to apply these important lessons to your life!




Leave a Reply.