OMG! OMG, OMG, OMG!!!!! I just realized that summer will be here in like... 5 school days! Holy cow! That is unbelievable! I can't believe this is the end of my seventh grade year, the end of waking up at 5:45 each morning, the end of riding the bus almost every day, the end of classes and homework, and the end of my first year in Media! This year definitely went by in the blink of an eye! I know I'm going to have a great summer where I can finally get a chance to relax and sleep in, and spend my days somewhere else than school most of the time, but I am also going to spend some of my summer trying to improve my media skills.

One Media skill that I really want to work on this summer is practicing writing scripts. This year, I have written 13 scripts- two news stories, one PSA, one music video, and nine radios. However, even though that may seem like a lot, it's really not, and I definitely want to get some more practice in writing scripts this summer. To be honest, I actually really enjoy writing scripts. It gives you a chance to establish, to create the story you are going to tell. And this summer, not only do I want to practice what I already know about writing scripts, but I also want to expand what I know about scripts, and learn new creative ways to tell stories.

Another Media skill that I really want to work on is filming. To be honest, filming stresses me out. There are so many things you have to make sure are right, like the lighting, angle of the shot, sound, and more, and a lot of the time you only get to film once, so if you mess anything up, well, that sucks for you. So this summer, I really want to practice filming so that next school year, I'll have way more experience, and maybe I'll be less nervous. And of course also so I'll learn a bunch more cool shots, angles, and techniques to us when filming.

I'm really excited to go to the Advanced Summer Media Camp this summer on Oahu so that I will get a chance to practice the skills I just talked about. It will give me the perfect opportunity to write scripts, film, and practice even more skills like editing, and everything in between. But besides from the Media Camp on Oahu, I'll also work on media skills while editing the High School Graduation video, helping out with the Media Camp for new students here on Kauai, and doing my own media projects during the summer. I tell you, media will sure keep my summer busy!

Overall, though summer is a time to take a break from school, it still can be used as a time to learn new things. I, for one, am going to use the summer as a time to learn and get more experience with media skills, such as writing scripts, and filming. Now that I've been in the Media Class for a year, I know what tough competition we have. And if we want to win awards at Olelo and STN, we are really going to have to step up our game. And what better time to prepare than summer?




Leave a Reply.