In life, there are many important traits to have. To me, kindness, patience, self control, responsibility, honesty, and respect are probably the biggest. Why are these traits just so important to have? Well, it's simple. They make life just so much better! You feel better about yourself when you use these traits instead of being mean and disrespectful. Others like you better because they see your great character. How you see life becomes better because you have a positive perspective. So in general, using important traits like kindness and respect makes life better. In this blog though, I'm going to talk about one very specific trait...punctuality. Punctuality kind of ties in with respect and responsibility, and it is important for many reasons. Read on to find out more!

One big reason why punctuality is important is because it shows respect to other people. I mean, imagine if I set up an interview with someone at 2:15, and I didn't get there until 2:30. That would definitely give off the impression to the interviewee that I didn't respect their time and was irresponsible!  If someone has already given up some of there precious time that they can never get back to you, the least you can do is show common courtesy and respect by being punctual.

Another reason why punctuality is important is because by being punctual, you prove you are trustworthy and responsible. One time, I told my parents that I would be home from an event at 8:00pm, but I ended up not getting home until 10:00pm! When I did get home, my parents were very mad at me because they had been expecting me to be home at 8:00, and I had violated their trust by not getting home until two hours later. I also had been irresponsible by losing track of time and not sticking to my commitment. It took a long time for me to regain their trust after that. I definitely learned from that experience!

Lastly, punctuality is important because it will help you relieve guilt and stress from life. When you are punctual, you feel better because you stayed true to your commitment and did the right thing. When you are late, it adds a lot of extra stress to your life (and other people's life!), and you have to face the consequences of being late. For example, in the Media Class, if you are late on radios, not only do you have to work extra hard and come in on the weekends, but so does Mr. M. That means you are not only wasting your own weekend, but also your teachers weekend on something that YOU were late on!

Overall, punctuality is important because it shows respect to other people, it proves you are trustworthy and responsible, and it helps to get rid of unnecessary stress and guilt from your life. Of course, no one's perfect and there will be times when you are late. That's just part of life. But for the most part, punctuality is a vital trait to have and use, and it makes life just so much better :)




Leave a Reply.