So, as you might know, last Friday we had the second STN practice. It was definitely different from the first STN Practice for me! Way different!! I mean, I was no longer in the commercial category, I had all different teammates, I had a different job and wasn't the editor anymore, and it was my first time making a movie trailer. I do have to say though, I really like competing in the movie trailer category,  although I think it is harder than the commercial category (from my perspective) , and there are lots of things that we need to figure out before we actually compete.

One thing that we had trouble with at the STN Practice was figuring out a good, solid idea. We spent a lot of time on the couch trying to figure out what our movie trailer would be about, and I think what happened is we spent too much time trying to see all the possible options and ideas we had and which one would be the best, which was a good thing, until we started changing the idea each time someone had a new suggestion. And after that, when we finally HAD an idea and started to film, we found out that we couldn't use teachers in our video, which kind of messed our whole idea up. But anyways, next STN Practice I think it would be wise to set a designated time of like maybe 10 minutes to come up with a good solid idea (I think we should try and spend as little time as possible trying to come up with the idea), and after that, spend the next 10 to 15 minutes coming up with a shot list (that doesn't have to be in detail, but should just give us a brief idea of the shots we need to get and how long they should be) so we're prepared. After all, pre planning prevents poor performance (those were the 5 P's I learned in DARE from Officer DeBlake)

Another thing I think we need to improve on for the movie trailer is making sense. When people saw our video, they had absolutely no idea what was going on. Even I had trouble following along! Next practice, I think we need to work on making a video that the viewer can understand. I mean, in the real business, if your movie trailer doesn't make sense, who's gonna want to spend money to see the movie? And like I said earlier, I think having a script will help a lot with being organized and also reading it to make sure that it makes sense and if you were a viewer, you would understand what was going on and want to watch the actual movie!

Lastly, I think we need to work on communication. To be honest, I really had no idea what my job was (like if I was editor, camera person, or what) because my group and I hadn't communicated before. I guess this was probably because it was the second practice and only a few people changed the group they were in, so the people that were in the movie trailer group since the first practice already knew their roles and didn't think that we would need to know what to do, and now that I look back, I should of asked what my job was so I would've known before we started. And actually, I wasn't the only one who didn't know what I was supposed to do. Some people in the group switched roles which made everything mixed up and resulted in some people not having a job at all. So next time, I think by communicating and making what's happening clear in the group, it will make it much easier.

Overall, you can see that our group has a lot to improve on. However, I'm confident that if we learn from the mistakes that we made, we will be able to make a really good movie trailer, and then at STN, do an awesome job!




Leave a Reply.